Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



LANGLEY, B.C. – Trinity Western’s women’s volleyball team earned three conference all-star honours, as Katelyn Devaney (Coquitlam, B.C.) was named a First Team All-Star, Hilary Howe (Calgary) a Second Team All-Star and Avery Heppell (Langley) to the All-Rookie Team.

For the fifth-year Devaney, who set the Canada West single-season record for blocks, with 145, while averaging 1.56 per set this year, the first team honour is the second of her career, as she was also amongst the best in the conference in 2015-16. Devaney capped her careering by setting the Canada West all-time career block record at 532.

The second-year Howe makes her debut as a conference all-star after she led the Spartans offensively, averaging 3.37 kills per set and 4.1 points per set.

As a first-year middle, Heppell had an outstanding season, finishing second only to Devaney in Canada West for blocks per set, with 1.38. In a mid-January game against Regina, Heppell also equaled the Spartans record for blocks in a match, with 13, tying the mark held by Devaney.

The Spartans finished the regular season with a 15-9 record, earning a spot in the Canada West quarter-finals, where they ultimately lost to Alberta, seeing their season come to an end after dropping the deciding Game 3 of the best-of-three series in Edmonton.

A total of five players in their first or second year of eligibility were honoured as 2017-18 Canada West women’s volleyball all-stars Tuesday, as the conference’s youth movement in the sport was on full display.

The conference first team features one second-year player with Alberta’s Kory White, who is joined by UBC rookie Kiera Van Ryk – the lone first-year athlete on either all-star team.

On the CW second all-star team, Manitoba’s Kearley Abbott, Trinity Western’s Howe, and Regina’s Satomi Togawa are all in their second year of eligibility.

Having five players in their first or second years named all-stars stands in stark contrast to last season’s teams, when then third-year Nikala Majewski – a second team all-star this year for a second straight season – was the lone all-star not in her fourth or fifth season.

2016-17 saw a total of eight fifth-year players named all-stars, while this season there were only four players in their final year of eligibility named all-stars.

Along with the conference all-star teams, which featured players from nine of CW’s 13 volleyball members, seven players were acknowledged as all-rookies for their outstanding freshmen seasons.

NOTE: The CW all-stars and all-rookies were selected by the conference’s 13 women’s volleyball head coaches.

Name / Position / University / Year / Hometown
Katelyn Devaney / M / Trinity Western / 5 / Port Coquitlam, B.C.
Alessandra Gentile / S / UBC / 5 / Port Moody, B.C.
Aidan Lea / M / UBCO / 3 / Kelowna, B.C.
Kate Pexman / OH / Calgary / 3 / Calgary, Alta.
Kiera Van Ryk / OH / UBC / 1 / Surrey, B.C.
Beth Vinnell / M / Calgary / 3 / Cochrane, Alta.
Kory White / OH / Alberta / 2 / Edmonton, Alta.

Name / Position / University / Year / Hometown
Kearley Abbott / OH / Manitoba / 2 / Winnipeg, Man.
Alex Donaghy / OH / Mount Royal / 5 / Sylvan Lake, Alta.
Hilary Howe / OH / Trinity Western / 2 / Calgary, Alta.
Michelle Jakszuk / OH / UBCO / 5 / Gibsons, B.C.
Nikala Majewski / OH / Brandon / 4 / Winnipeg, Man.
Eryn Orysiuk / S / Alberta / 5 / Edmonton, Alta.
Satomi Togawa / S / Regina / 2 / Uji, Japan

Name / Position / University / Hometown
Michelle Egger / OH / Brandon / Schwarzenbach, Switzerland
Jenae Eisler / L / Alberta / Edmonton, Alta.
Avery Heppel / M / Trinity Western / Langley, B.C.
Jessica Lerminiaux / OH / Regina / Regina, Sask.
Anastasiya Muzyka / S / Thompson Rivers / Poltawa, Ukraine
Kiera Van Ryk / OH / UBC / Surrey, B.C.
Julia Zonneveld / OH / Alberta / Calgary, Alta.

About Canada West:
Canada West (CW) is the leading university athletic conference in the country and is home to champion student-athletes that excel in the classroom and their communities. Canada West and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions